A Category is a tool that you can use to group Guided Paths together by topic. The hierarchy of Categories that you create in your Support.com tenant appears to Agents to help them navigate to the Guided Path that they need. The same Categories also appear to your Consumers when they use Self Support.

The Manage Categories screen is where you create Categories and give them a name and description. It is also where you control the Category hierarchy that Agents and Consumers see. You can create up to three levels of nested Categories. You can always change the name and location of the Category later if you need to: click and drag the Categories to change their order.

Tip: There is no practical limit on the length of your Category names. However, you should keep the names as short as possible. Long names can make the hierarchy difficult to navigate for Agents and especially Consumers using Self-Support.

To open the Manage Categories screen, select Designer in the Navigation bar and then select Categories in the sub-menu navigation.


Restricting Access to a Category

You can disable a Category to make it unavailable to everyone, for example, so you can archive the contents without actually deleting everything. You disable a Category by clearing the Enabled check box in the Category Details window. To open this window, click the pencil icon that appears when you pause your mouse pointer over the Category name. 

On the other hand, you might want to limit who can access a Category, but not actually disable it. You can control which Teams have access to each Category using the Restrict access to field on the Category Details window. Note that when you restrict access to a Category, you are also restricting the access to its Sub-categories. You can override the access restrictions that a Sub-category inherits from its parent by specifying different access restrictions on the Sub-category.

For example, imagine you have a Category named Configure that contains Sub-categories named User and Admin. If you restrict the Configure Category so that only the Onboarding team can see it, then the User and Admin Sub-categories will also be restricted to only that team. If you then change which teams have access to the User Sub-category, then that Sub-category will no longer inherit the restrictions from the Configure Category and will instead use the restrictions you set up especially for it.