Clicking the Versions icon (wireframe) with a Guided Path in the Manage Content screen selected opens the Revision History popup appears for that Guided Path/Support Article.
This popup contains the following information for each version of the selected Guided Path/Support Article:
- View: Clicking the View icon (magnifying glass) for a version opens the Content Designer screen for the selected version of the Guided Path/Support Article. See Content Designer Screen (opens a new article).
Version: Number of each saved version of the Guided Path/Support Article. Support.com Cloud maintains a complete version history whenever you create or modify a Guided Path/Support Article, although you may delete one or more version(s) at any time. A unique number will be assigned to every version of a Guided Path/Support Article as follows:
- Each published version of a Guided Path/Support Article is incremented to the next whole number. For example, the second published version of a Guided Path will be version 2.0.
- Each saved (but not published) version of a Guided Path/Support Article is also incremented to the next whole number. For example, editing version 1.0 of a Guided Path and then saving that version will create version 2.0. Subsequent saves will become versions 3.0, 4.0, etc.
- Paths included with Support.com Cloud are assigned version 1.0, and any changes you make will increment the versions to 1.1, 1.2, etc. Any changes made by Support.com will increment to 2.0, 3.0, etc.
- If you edit a prior version of any Guided Path/Support Article (whether a custom-built or template Path) and then save those edits, Support.com Cloud will create a new version for those edits. For example, if the selected Guided Path/Support Article has versions 1.0 through 1.7 and you make changes to version 1.3, then those changes will be saved as version 1.8. If you publish those changes, then the version will increment to 2.0.
- Date Created: Date the version was created.
- Modified By: Name of the user who last edited that version of the Guided Path/Support Article.
Status: Publication status of each version of the Guided Path or Support Article. Support.com Cloud tracks the publication status of each Guided Path/Support Article to ensure that the Agents assisting consumers can only access and use Paths/Articles that have been published and made available for them to use. This is an important safety feature, since it prevents Agents from accessing Guided Paths/Support Articles that are obsolete or not yet ready for use, and is designed to help ensure that the designers creating those Guided Paths/Support Articles test their work before publishing a Path/Article. Published changes are instantly available for use by Agents. Every Guided Path/Support Article within Support.com Cloud will have one of the following statuses:
- Draft: Contains the most recent edits to the Guided Path/Support Article. Drafts are not available for Agents to use when assisting consumers.
- Saved: Applies to all versions of the Guided Path/Support Article that are neither Published nor the current Draft. Saved version(s) of a Guided Path/Support Article are not available for Agents to use when assisting consumers. You can open any prior version of a Guided Path/Support Article for editing at any time. Saving your changes to that version will make that version the Draft for that Path/Article and change any previous Draft version to a Saved version. This status can also appear as Auto-Saved, because Support.com Cloud saves your work automatically, even if you do not click the Save button.
- Published: The Live vision that is currently available for Agents to use when assisting consumers. Each Guided Path/Support Article can have only one Published version.
- Unpublished: The Guided Path/Support Article has previously been published and has since been removed from Published status.
- Comments: Any notes entered by the content creator when the version was created or edited.